Celebrating Peru's Independence: A Journey Through History and Cultural Heritage

Celebrating Peru's Independence: A Journey Through History and Cultural Heritage

When Peru was Founded
Explore the foundation of Peru as an independent nation on July 28, 1821, led by José de San Martín, and delve into its rich history, cultural heritage, and its transformation into a popular travel destination.

peru, frequently asked questions, faq, independence, spanish colony, viceroyalty of peru, josé de san martín, latin america, history, culture, travel destination

Learning Center > Peru FAQ

Peru was founded on July 28, 1821, when it declared its independence from Spain. The process of gaining independence was led by José de San Martín, who is considered one of the heroes of Peruvian independence.

Before gaining independence, Peru was a Spanish colony, and it was known as the Viceroyalty of Peru. The Viceroyalty of Peru was one of the largest and most important of the Spanish colonies in South America, and it included territories in what are now Bolivia, Chile, Ecuador, and Peru.

The struggle for independence in Peru began in the early 19th century, and it was part of a larger movement for independence in Latin America. After several years of fighting, Peru declared its independence on July 28, 1821, and established itself as a sovereign nation.

Since gaining independence, Peru has undergone many changes and challenges, but it has remained a vibrant and diverse country with a rich cultural heritage. Today, Peru is a popular destination for travelers from around the world, and it is known for its beautiful landscapes, rich history, and delicious cuisine.

More details about how Peru was founded.

More about Peru, custom trips and ready-to-book experiences.